Skip navigation

 

Chicago Cubs closer Kerry Wood celebrates after the Cubs beat the Houston Astros 9-7 in a baseball game on Saturday, April 5, 2008, in Chicago.

 -The Cubs improved to 3-3 after winning their weekend series over the Astros.  Carlos Zambrano, who suffered from forearm cramps during his last start, had the quote of the weekend.

“I feel good.  I drank a lot of water and Gatorade. Sometimes I go home and I feel too full — too much bananas.  I feel like a monkey now!”

-The Tigers are still searching for that elusive first win.  Can’t say I saw an 0-6 start coming, but I believe they will right the ship and get off the schnide.

-With nice weather comes excessive drinking…damn I’m hungover! 

-There’s more change on the horizon for the NBA.  Commish David Stern and NCAA president Myles Brand have worked out an agreement that would make sure players are in college for two years instead of one.  The NBA’s CBA expires in 2011 and as long as the NBA Players Association passes the proposal, the new rule would go into effect after the 2010-2011 season.  As a college basketball fan, I love it.  As an American, I hate it. 

Speaking of college basketball, how well is Memphis playing right now?  At the begining of the tournament, many of the so-called experts tabbed the Tigers as the weakest number one seed in the field because of their mediocre free throw shooting.  They have responded by shooting well over 80% from the charity stripe en route to steamrolling the competition.  I’ve been racking my brain trying to remember a better backcourt duo than freshman sensation Derrick Rose and Chris Douglas-Roberts.  The tandem from the midwest have lead the vaunted attack.

-North Carolina fell behind big in the first half and never recovered.  Kansas exposed UNC for their weak defense.  I don’t see them beating Memphis though, the Tigers are too good…prediction.

Memphis – 90  Kansas – 79

What do you guys think?

3 Comments

    • Billy-Ho
    • Posted April 7, 2008 at 2:56 pm
    • Permalink

    I agree Swol, Memphis is playing unbelievable right now and I don’t think Kansas is going to be able to handle their high uptempo offense. I think Memphis is gonna kick the shit out of Kansas.

    • Nate Dogg
    • Posted April 7, 2008 at 4:37 pm
    • Permalink

    I think you drink too much! As for the game I think whoever has more white players will win. lol Kansas will win only if they suit up Danny Manning!

    • jswol54
    • Posted April 7, 2008 at 5:09 pm
    • Permalink

    I think you smoke too much Chotchball!


Leave a Reply

