Skip navigation

If you guys have never read Gilbert’s blog, I suggest that you do.  Arenas is never at a struggle for words…or ridiculous thoughts!  Here’s an excerpt from his latest entry after he found out doctors wouldn’t clear him to play against the Pistons on Sunday.

It was just me and my car … speeding — something that I shouldn’t be doing.

Then I got that thought that I know everybody gets once in a while, I was like, “You know, what if I just ran my car into this pole right here?”

I don’t know why I thought that, but I kept going with it.

“Then I can jump off the road into this lake and just swim … or drown. Whichever one comes first.”

It was really devastating. I was thinking, “Mannn, again?! But I listened to Young Jeezy’s verse in “They Know” to get me past those bad thoughts … plus, I’m sane. I’m a sane person, I wouldn’t do that to myself.

Nobody has ever accused Arenas of being normal.(i.e. he bought sharks to put in his pool with his fist NBA paycheck), but this is borderline insane.  Expressing (albeit brief, and possibly exaggerated) thoughts of suicide is either a cry for help, or Gilbert’s wacky way of telling us just how upset he was about not being able to play that night. Given his history with quirky comments though, it’s probably just the latter.

6 Comments

    • Nate Dogg
    • Posted March 27, 2008 at 2:15 pm
    • Permalink

    What a dumb ass how come only the fucked up people get rich. I would never think of that if I had 100k let alone millions!

    • jswol54
    • Posted March 27, 2008 at 5:09 pm
    • Permalink

    Why don’t you show a little compassion Nate? I mean the guy was thinking about ending his life and all you can do is denigrate him. Your not going to win any humanitarian awards, that’s for sure!

    Disclaimer: I think about ending it every Sunday after binge drinking for two days!

    • Billy-Ho
    • Posted March 27, 2008 at 6:42 pm
    • Permalink

    Lord knows I do too…and he could have picked a better song to hype him up as opposed to Young Jeezy

    • jswol54
    • Posted March 27, 2008 at 7:07 pm
    • Permalink

    No shit, O’Leary listens to Young Jeezy to get hyped for reffin’ @ the courthouse!

    • Billy-Ho
    • Posted March 27, 2008 at 9:03 pm
    • Permalink

    And before he puts his on his knee brace to work at BW3.

    • jswol54
    • Posted March 28, 2008 at 1:22 pm
    • Permalink

    You mean puts his knee brace on to hang out at BW3 and get paid for it!


Leave a Reply

